Log in

No account? Create an account
Well now! I mentioned that while I don't have anything written down,… - Nite Mirror — LiveJournal [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
Nite Mirror

[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

[Nov. 4th, 2007|02:38 pm]
Nite Mirror
Well now! I mentioned that while I don't have anything written down, I was mulling over a bit of a short story to write in my head. While I watch the monthly writing contests writting.com holds (alternating between using a quote and a picture every other month), I've never entered. Prob. I still won't enter, however, the picture for this month's contest kinda, sorta fits with what I was thinking of writing (it would have been perfect if there was a second road crossing the first one and maybe a bit more by the way of trees along the sides of the road).

Ah, now that I read the rules, I couldn't enter anyway. They want the entries to be from paid accounts. T'aint worth it.


note to self: Must clean this computer's keyboard. The space bar is acting weird.

[User Picture]From: issabellablue
2007-11-05 02:34 pm (UTC)
Just a heads up...

Use caution when entering those online writing contests. Many (even most) of them are a big scam. Very often they'll notify you that you've been chosen or have "won", and can be published (or receive a plaque, etc) for a FEE.
(Reply) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: nitemirror
2007-11-05 06:53 pm (UTC)
Considering how long I've been a member (both at the free and at various times a paid member), I'm pretty sure Writing.com isn't a scam. Just a community based website for writers (and readers).

Mostly they give either gift cards for amazon.com or their own gift points as prizes to their official contests. Their gift points are worthless off their site, but they do have a few things that can be bought with those writing.com gift points -- paid memberships, coffee cups, ... etc.).

Anyway, I'm sure writing.com isn't a scam. And I do know they suspend the membership of people who joined and than ran writing scams too. So while I'd be more suspicious of a subgroup started by a member who ran a contest, that's still policed by the site too.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)
[User Picture]From: issabellablue
2007-11-06 08:06 am (UTC)
Oh good. Sounds like a good venue for writers then.
(Reply) (Parent) (Thread)